Once you've organized a couple events in the Socio Platform, it can be useful to hide your old events to prevent attendees from finding and accessing them. Perhaps you’ve cloned a new event and want to make sure attendees don’t confuse the new event with the old event. Or, maybe you don’t want past event attendees to access the content after the event is over.

If you don't want attendees to find and access one of your old events, this article is for you! We've outlined best practices for hiding an old event from search results and removing attendee access to an old event, with steps along the way to ensure that you retain your event's valuable metrics.

Contents

  1. Update event Privacy Settings

  2. Export attendee metrics from your old event

  3. Block/remove active and inactive users from your old event

Update event Privacy Settings

To hide an event, first update Privacy Settings and remove the event from search results. This prevents anyone from finding your old event in the Event App search results.

Within the event you want to hide, click the Basics tab, then click the Privacy Settings tab.

Screenshot of Privacy Settings in the Basics tab.

Choose the Event Code privacy setting, enter a code if there isn't one already, and check the Hide event from search results and require the code to find the event checkbox. ✅

Screenshot of the Event Code Privacy Setting.

Export attendee metrics from your old event 📈

Before blocking and removing attendees from your event, we recommend that you export your event metrics from the Metrics tab. After all, you don't want to lose all of the insightful attendee data!

In the Metrics tab, click the Export Report button, and click each option from the drop-down to download your metrics reports. Each report has a wealth of useful data about your event, including attendee engagement metrics. Check out Event & Community Metrics to learn how to download reports and review what data is captured in each report.

Screenshot of the Export Report button in the Metrics tab.

Block/remove active and inactive users from your old event ❌

Now that you’ve exported your old event’s metrics and put the exported reports in a safe place, you’re ready to head over to the Users & Groups tab and block/remove users from your old event. First, you'll block active users who attended your event. Then, you'll remove inactive users who were invited to your event but did not attend.

😎 Pro tip! If you want to keep a record of your old event's users, you can export a report before blocking and removing users. Check out Export and Import Feature Content to learn more.

⭐️ Keep in mind, users will only be blocked/removed from the old event, not all of your events.

Within your old event, click the Users & Groups tab and select Active from the All Users drop-down. This narrows the list down to attendees with an Active status.

Screenshot of selecting Active Users in the Users & Groups tab.

Check the User box to select all your active users, then click the three dots, and select Block.

Screenshot of blocking Active users in the Users & Groups tab.

Now, remove inactive users from the old event. First, select Not Active from the drop-down in the Users & Groups tab.

Screenshot of selecting Not Active users in the Users & Groups tab.

Check the User box to select all the inactive users, then click the three dots, and select Remove.

Screenshot of removing inactive users in the Users & Groups tab.

Now that you've hidden your old event, you can focus on promoting your new event! Take a look at our Getting Started with Your Event App Promotion Plan article for next steps.


Questions? Chat Us or Email support@socio.events

Did this answer your question?