Attendance Management is an optional facet of Agenda sessions that allows for limited capacity or closed sessions. If you set a specific capacity limit, attendees can add the session to their personal agenda until the limit is reached. If you set a session to Closed, only attendees you add to the session can have that session in their personal agenda.

Let's take a look at how this works. 🔍

Animated GIF showing an attendee adding a session to their personal agenda.

⚠️ Caution, Attendance Management is not a session check-in system, and it doesn't hide sessions from participants. It simply lets you limit which attendees can have certain sessions on their personal agenda in Socio. If you want certain sessions to only be visible to certain people, consider using Tracks.

Enable Attendance Management

When editing an Agenda session, click the Attendance Management section to expand it. The default Attendance Management setting is Open so that anyone can add the session to their Personal Agenda.

Click the Status dropdown, and select either Closed or Limited Capacity, then check Customize the denial message box to edit the default Denial Message attendees see when the session is full or they're not in the participant list.

  • Closed means that only attendees you add to the session can have that session in their personal agenda.

  • Limited Capacity means that attendees can add the session to their personal agenda until the Maximum Capacity is reached. Attendees can see session capacity in the daily view of the Agenda, as well as the expanded session view.

If you selected Limited Capacity, enter a number in the Maximum Attendance field. Attendees will see the current and maximum capacity listed below the session title. Until the capacity is reached, any attendee can add the session to their personal agenda.

⭐ Keep in mind, if you uncheck the Show participants list box in the Agenda's settings, the participant count won't appear.

If you selected Closed, only attendees you add to the Participant List will see the session in their personal agenda, but all attendees can still see the session and join the live stream unless you restrict visibility using Tracks or Groups.

Finish any other edits to the Agenda session, then click Save Changes.

View and add Session Participants

If you set the session as Closed, you'll need to add attendees to the session. On the Edit Agenda page, simply click the Settings (⚙️) icon next to the session, and click Session Participants.

⭐ Keep in mind, you can also use the Session Participants modal to see which attendees have added the session to their personal agenda if the session is open or limited.

In the modal that appears, the Current Attendees field shows the attendees that have added this session to their personal agenda, or have been assigned to this session. Click the Settings (⚙️) icon next to an attendee to remove them from the session.

To add the session to an attendee's personal agenda, click the Add Attendees button. In the modal that appears, search for attendees by name and click on them to select them. Once you've selected everyone to be added, click Add Attendee(s).

You can also export the list of attendees who have added this agenda to their personal agenda. Simply check the box at the top left corner of the list, then click the three-dot icon next to the search box, and click Export.

Now you're ready to rock Attendance Management! 🎸Another way to impact personal agendas is the Preset Agenda feature. The Preset Agenda option is great when editing in bulk. Interested in learning more about Preset Agendas? Check this out!

Questions? Chat Us or Email [email protected]

Did this answer your question?